John Carmack Speaks On Oculus/Facebook Deal

Steven Bogos

The Taco Man
Jan 17, 2013
John Carmack Speaks On Oculus/Facebook Deal

John Carmack says that the deal was "unexpected", but he has faith that Facebook can see "the big picture."

When blog [http://www.escapistmagazine.com/news/view/133231-Facebook-is-Buying-Oculus-VR-for-2-Billion-Update-4]. Carmack says he wasn't expecting the deal, but still has faith that Facebook can see "the big picture."

"Honestly, I wasn't expecting Facebook (or this soon)," said Carmack. "I have zero personal background with them, and I could think of other companies that would have more obvious synergies."

"However," he added, "I do have reasons to believe that they get the Big Picture as I see it, and will be a powerful force towards making it happen. You don't make a commitment like they just did on a whim."

Carmack said that he personally wasn't involved at all in the negotiations. "I spent an afternoon talking technology with Mark Zuckerberg, and the next week I find out that he bought Oculus."

He also mulled over going the "Valve" route, as in, "trying to build a new VR ecosystem like Steam from the ground up," admitting that while this is what the most passionate fans wanted to see, it never would have worked. "VR won't be like that," he explained. "The experience is too obviously powerful, and it makes converts on contact. The fairly rapid involvement of the Titans is inevitable, and the real questions were how deeply to partner, and with who."

Source: Peter Perkman's Tumblr [http://peterberkman.tumblr.com/post/80827337212/wrong-and-right-reasons-to-be-upset-about-oculus#disqus_thread]

Somebloke

Aug 5, 2010
..and right now Oculus VR's developer pages are down for routine maintenance -- If on April 1st they put up a mock version of them, that are a taste of everything we fear from out of Facebook, I may never be able to forgive them for toying with us. :p

mrverbal

May 23, 2008