How Cosplay Can Help You Be Brave

Liana Kerzner

May 6, 2015
How Cosplay Can Help You Be Brave

When I met Jessica Nigri, she made the comment that cosplay makes her a better person. I was just reminded of how this works this past weekend. Here's the story.

Read Full Article

LysanderNemoinis

Noble and oppressed Kekistani
Nov 8, 2010
Amen. While I don't always comment on your articles, I always find them not only one of the most intelligent things on this site, but also a sort of pick-me-up, because you have a really great attitude and your confidence is very inspiring. You've inspired me to start cosplaying as well at the next con I go to, though thankfully the characters I'm most interested in cosplaying don't wear anything very revealing. I also don't have half the moxie you do.

ArtemisPrime

Nov 17, 2015
As a teacher, I expect my students to be brave all the time. I was reminded of how hard that can be. Today I "cosplayed" an ancient Greek bard, conveying the story of how Orion came to be a constellation. I dressed in the role, complete with walking staff, and felt a nervousness that I hadn't felt in a long time. Reading your article today about being brave was fortuitous and reminded me that being brave comes in many forms. Thanks for that.

CharrHearted

Aug 20, 2010
Cosplaying can sure build confidence so long as you're almost picture perfect to what the cosplay world perceives each cosplayer be. Hearing the disgusting comments of people talking behind a more rounded cosplayers back and silently insulting and mocking them makes me sad. Being a more pudgy human being myself, due to shame, of many individuals publically insulting me for being an ugly piece of roadkill, I decided never to cosplay again, which makes sense, i mean why should I ruin everyones time by cosplaying something i enjoy? Clearly only those with near perfect bodies can cosplay, thats what the years of constant emotional beatings ive received have taught me.