161: Sidhe's the One

Colin Rowsell

Jan 14, 2008
Sidhe's the One

"A Sidhe is an earthen mound where mythical beings live. It's also an independent New Zealand videogame company that's moved away from the hill-dwelling fairy thing to release six titles in the last five years. I've known about them for a long while: Like fantasy films, Antarctic storms and flaccid politicians, Sidhe has become part of the Kiwi landscape. But I'd never gotten near the source code, the how, why and what-the-hell of growing your very own game development ecosystem at the bottom of the South Pacific. So I called them up, begged my way in and spent a week learning the secret. Here it is, in seven easy steps, complete with magic beans and beer."

Read Full Article

Shushyne4np2ne

Jul 28, 2008
Amazing article, really. It's wonderful to hear about developers across the pond. I love hearing about how things are handled in the game business. I'm an aspiring game programmer/designer/whatever the hell job I can get in games. I love games and love to play them. My music dream fell through, so I fell back on games. They both happen to be similar. You start out as a fledgling with no experience, and you progress through the ranks. Along the way, you meet some terrible people and you meet some amazing friends. Let's just hope that it doesn't turn out like a Def Leppard career. Eventually, you're playing state fairs in midwest towns/making tiny games that don't net in much. That's everyone in the game industry's dream. Indies are an exception because most want to stay small. Same thing with indie bands, they want to be small to that niche audience. Music and Games are quite alike...

L.B. Jeffries

Nov 29, 2007