Editor's Note: Gaming Addictions

Andraste

Nov 21, 2004
Gaming Addictions

All media is designed to suck you in - so why do games get all the flack? This issue of The Escapist looks at games addiction from both outside and inside perspectives.

Read Full Article

Ranneko

Mar 23, 2009
I had very much the same experience with WoW. I made some characters, I enjoyed playing, but they all just trailed off and I started playing other games. At level 20 the levelling time increased enough that I just started playing other games.

Not intentionally, just when I looked at my game list as to what to play, WoW stopped being picked.

GonzoGamer

Apr 9, 2008
If you want to know the real reason; it's because there are quite a few generations of people alive who were born before video games and see it as a waste of time as opposed to their Crossword puzzles that keep their mind limber. It's the old George Carlin adage "other people's stuff is shit and your shit is stuff."

I've had similar experiences with games (GTA San Andreas comes to mind) where I was compelled to play continuously but was able to stop when other needs arose but the same has happened to me with really engrossing books too (the Harry Potter series comes to mind). Thankfully my wife sometimes gets just as obsessed with a game or a book so she's very forgiving with me.

For those of every generation who live very disciplined lives of obsessive distracting productivity(and I'm not even going to get into that whole pathos), any activity that takes up so much time is a waste. I'm reminded of another quote, this one by HL Mencken: "Puritanism -The haunting fear that someone, somewhere, may be happy."