Need for Speed: Shift Attempts to Drive Away With My Cash

Earnest Cavalli

Jun 19, 2008
Need for Speed: Shift Attempts to Drive Away With My Cash

Racing is all about dollars. Generally the boys with the fanciest engines and the most expensive drivers are going to run away with the field. In that light, it's almost fitting that EA would go to such great lengths to emulate that concept with Need for Speed: Shift.

Let me bring you up to speed: Last night I got home after a day of partying in celebration of my twenty sixth birthday. I was in a great mood. I'd had delicious bacon, pretty girls and surprisingly good weather all day and now I was cracking into the newly-sent-to-me Need for Speed: Shift.

Now I'll admit, I'm a terrible race car driver. Doubly so when it comes to these "simulations." If you set me atop a hairpin turn I'm more likely to ride the wall into a flaming pile of wreckage than actually make it to the bottom. But, I love the "concept" of these games. I like the feeling of being a fancy British fellow strapped into a $100,000 land-based rocket and trying, however futilely, to out-maneuver a group of similarly rocket-equipped lads. Hence, I own all the Gran Turismos, all the Forzas, and I've been looking forward to Need for Speed: Shift for quite a while.

On starting the game my hopes were seemingly justified. The game is truly gorgeous, besting Forza 2's industry-leading racing simulation graphics and infusing them with a slick, urban yet erudite aesthetic that perfectly fits the world of high-class racing promised by the game. The soundtrack is packed with a great blend of indie and electronic bands, and everything just "feels" right, from the stylized menus to the almost dour British announcer offering tips on how to properly apply braking pressure and not snap your virtual neck while whipping through a no-doubt legendary road course that I'd never heard of.