Hollywood Voice Actors: Show Them the Money

Andy Chalk

One Flag, One Fleet, One Cat
Nov 12, 2002
Hollywood Voice Actors: Show Them the Money

Lev Chapelsky, general manager of the production firm Blindlight [http://www.blindlight.com/], says that for years Hollywood actors wanted nothing to do with videogames but once game industry revenues began to surpass that of movies, things changed in a hurry.

The presence of celebrity voice talent in big-budget games has become relatively commonplace these days; Oblivion [http://fallout.bethsoft.com] and the aforementioned Fallout 3, movie actors weren't always so willing to cross genres, and some still aren't.

"I remember the day when most [actors] just thought, 'Videogame? No. I'm a professional actor, this is not something I would do any more than I would do an endorsement for snake oil'. That took a while to get away from, and then it kind of eclipsed into, 'Wow, these guys are making a lot of money on videogames'," he said in an interview with Edge [http://www.edge-online.com/features/interview-lev-chapelsky?page=0%2C0]. "And when the hype came out five years ago about gross revenues of videogames exceeding film, that one statistic had impact here like a nuclear bomb. Nothing has affected the film industries more than that."

"It just melted down their gray matter," he continued. "When that happened, instead of saying, 'This is an important medium artistically, creatively, we should get involved in it as artists,' they said, 'Holy s--t, there's money out there, we've gotta get a piece of that'. So then they started demanding ridiculous money. It made things a bit uncomfortable for a while."