Artist Creates Detailed Millennium Falcon in Cardboard

StewShearerOld

Geekdad News Writer
Jan 5, 2013
Artist Creates Detailed Millennium Falcon in Cardboard

Animation artist Thomas Richner recently cleared out his basement by turning his cardboard junk into an epic Millenium Falcon model.

One of the things that people sadly tend to forgot as they escape the bonds of youth and replace them with the shackles of adulthood is the simple but pure joy of playing with cardboard boxes. Sincerely, go out and find a cardboard box large enough to fit your body into and try to have a bad time. Chances are unless you pay one of your shadier friends (you know the one we're talking about) to tape you inside and roll you into a December river, that you're going to have a good time.

And if you don't believe me, go ahead and ask Thomas Richner. Richner, an animation artist by trade, who recently converted the task of cleaning some old cardboard boxes from his basement into an opportunity to re-visit his childhood hobby of building Star Wars ships. This resulted in an epic project that transformed Richer's collection of junky boxes into an amazingly detailed 5-foot model of the <a href=http://www.escapistmagazine.com/news/view/135002-The-Millennium-Falcon-for-Star-Wars-VII-is-Under-Construction>Millennium Falcon complete with retractable landing gear.