Days of High Adventure: Remembering Dave

James Maliszewski

Aug 19, 2009
Days of High Adventure: Remembering Dave

Dungeons & Dragons players owe a great debt to a man some of them have never heard of.

Read Full Article

BlueInkAlchemist

Ridiculously Awesome
Jun 4, 2008
Blackmoor is an incredible inspiration. If you can, get your hands on it.

I myself am putting it to good use.

I could tell you the whys and wherefores, but...

Jonci

Sep 15, 2009
Dave Arneson was an instructor at Full Sail University back when I was a student. He taught the "Rules of the Game" class, which was mostly just us listening to his lecture and playing boardgames. He wanted us to learn the basic concept of any game is gameplay; to forget about graphics and special effects. How to invent rules that makes a game fun to play.

Dispite the bad blood with Gygax, Dave was still proud of D&D and most of his lectures were built around it. He was an interesting man.

He also taught us that , sometimes, a Dungeon Master has to drop a meteor on a shitty min/max character to teach the player a lesson.

Slycne

Tank Ninja
Feb 19, 2006
Jonci said:
He also taught us that , sometimes, a Dungeon Master has to drop a meteor on a shitty min/max character to teach the player a lesson.
Nah, meteors or falling rocks are no fun. I believe the cockatrice is the ultimate DM teaching tool. What better to put an overpowered or unruly player in their place than a flock of magic chickens that turn you to stone.

Galad

Nov 4, 2009
Thank you for filling this abysmal gap in the knowledge of this fledgling D&D player :)

(I don't suppose NWN 1 counts as much of an D&D experience, hence the 'fledgling' bit)

Royas

Apr 25, 2008
I like to imagine that Dave and Gary have settled their differences, and are even now playing in the Great Beyond. Damned shame about both of them going, the world is poorer for their loss.

Archon

Nov 12, 2002