How to Host an RPG Session

Archon

Nov 12, 2002
How to Host an RPG Session

Being a good gamesmaster isn't just about running the game; you've also got to create the right atmosphere.

Read Full Article

Sartan0

Apr 5, 2010
I have been running a group more or less weekly for five years. (Before that I ran things with more disruption from school then I like to think about) I will say I do a great many of the things you mentioned. We also have gamed on Mondays. The issue with that is my players want a longer game without giving up sleep so we have just decided to go to Sunday afternoons with Monday night as are fallback night. (For when we have Sunday conflicts.)

I think this will still work out because we get at least five full hours of playing instead of what often ended up as three hours tops after futzing around with dinner and what not.

I am lucky enough that I don't need to bribe my players to bring snacks but then many of them have been in the group for years so that helps.

kouriichi

Sep 5, 2010
Ive been GM a few times. ((i perfure GK (God king) insted though))

Its not as hard as many people think. But then, at the same time, its way harder then youd expect. You really have to balance the two powers. Arsehole and Timid Bunny.

Sure you could fill the next room with imps, goblins, orks, or kobalds..... but thats to common. Insted lets fill it with a dozen golden chests. Inside each one is a different surprise! An Umber Hulk in one, a group of fiends in another, maybe a chest full of mimics ((chests)) in another?
But then ofcourse is when the arsehole in you starts to kick in. Lets make them all magically trapped, deadly to the touch, and cant be closed.

Its the proper balance between the two that really makes for a good GM.

Cpt Corallis

Apr 14, 2009