Best antivirus

brainslurper

Aug 18, 2009
So I am considering the possibility of using my windows computer for something other then steam, what is the best free anti virus software? Sorry, I am new to needing it.

Balimaar

The Bass Fish
Sep 26, 2010
if you dont mind daily ads asking you to upgrade to the paid version Avira antivirus is probably best.

if you dont want ads you might go with AVG

blizzaradragon

Mar 15, 2010
Avast, hands down. I've seen Avast do better than most anti-virus software that you pay for. I always recommend people get Avast when they have problems with viruses or their anti-virus just doesn't like cooperating, and I've been thanked by people every single time afterward.

BreakfastMan

Scandinavian Jawbreaker
Jul 22, 2010
I have AVG, Avast, and Malwarebytes running on my computer right now. Hasn't caught a virus yet, so I say those are pretty good.

tjs09

Aug 23, 2010
Try the avast! free version [http://www.avast.com/en-us/free-antivirus-download].

It has no ads and is really light on your operating system compared to other anti-virus programs. I've had it for about 6 months and it hasn't steered me wrong yet.

Did I mention it's free?

smearyllama

May 9, 2010
Webroot is what I use, and I really love it. It's also got a gaming mode, so you can run games with it running. Pretty handy.

gee666

One Sad Act
Nov 10, 2009
Get Avast, Malware bites, and Spy Bot Search and destroy

Should be fine with those 3 Though nothing is bomb proof common sense is required make sure that any links downloads etc are ones you trust

just had to do a clean install as I opened an email from work and ended up with Ramnit on my computer got onto PB game files and several other places it also installed on my usb sound card so that's £90 fucked

Twilight_guy

Sight, Sound, and Mind
Nov 24, 2008