Do members of the military get too much respect? What profession do you respect the most?

Sabiancym

Aug 12, 2010
You know the scene. Two people are introducing themselves to each other.

Person A: What do you do?
Person B: I'm actually a Vet. Marine Corps.
Person A: Oh wow. Thank you for your service.

Now that's all well and good, but I've always thought that not only do members of the military get too much unconditional respect, but that other people who provide invaluable services don't get near enough. Sure there are the basic Police and Fire Fighters, but they get plenty.

I'm talking about people like Pathologists, Teachers, EMTs, Surgeons, social workers, etc. These people certainly do as much individually, if not more than any one member of the military. Plus as a whole I guarantee the previously mentioned professions have done more good than the military.

I'm going to go with ER doctors, nurses, EMTs, and paramedics. These people save millions of lives and have to endure some of the most emotionally and physically draining situations out there. Watching children die when you don't know what's wrong with them, missing saving someone's life by 20 seconds, having to tell an only child that their one remaining parent has passed away, etc. I would be a constant ball of tears if I worked in some city ERs. I'd be curled up in a ball in the corner in no time from some of the tragedy I'd inevitably have to see.