The Big Picture: Hollywood History 101: Part 1

MovieBob

Dec 31, 2008
Hollywood History 101: Part 1

Learn how Hollywood became Movie Central.

Watch Video

MrJoyless

May 26, 2010
Good vid, thanks Bob

Its funny how inflexible industry juggernauts get squished by innovation from time to time...*glares at record companies*

John the Gamer

May 2, 2010
And just when I started playing "The movies: Stunts and Effects"... Maybe I can learn from this? Nah, the game doesn't have such depth.

Still very interesting episode as always. Thanks Bob.

mrblakemiller

Aug 13, 2010
I appreciate the vid. I usually prefer Bob's videos when he actually gets into opinion and one-man debate, but I know little enough of the early days of film for this to be worth a look.

Not G. Ivingname

Nov 18, 2009
Honestly thought the big reveal would be radio, but then I figured out that since Hollywood and radio stations existed side by side throughout the depression, that it couldn't be the culprit.

brazuca

Jun 11, 2008
Uhum, but don't linger too much on Tv story please. There is still the silver era, the decadence of western the Hollywood crash, nowadays, I mean lot of material just about movies. Best episode so far. Waiting for part II and possible III.

therockdemon

Mar 17, 2011
this was very interesting as a huge film geek i knew a bit about the history of hollywood but moviebob just showed me i only knew the tip of the iceberg, thanks bob

Tarkand

Dec 15, 2009
I guess history repeat itself eh?

Now the big unstoppable juggernaut is very slow to adapt itself to the internet. >_>

Sabrestar

Apr 13, 2010
Thanks Bob, this is helpful. I knew some of it, but it helps to have a go-to guide from an expert.

Interesting to note the similarity that came into my head to the monopolistic business practices of Nintendo in the 1980s, and how that era is similarly remembered as a "golden age" of video games...

Agent Larkin

Apr 6, 2009
Very very interesting Bob.