Who here can speak Japanese?

MisterM2402

Nov 19, 2009
Edit: the poll didn't show up when I posted and I don't know how to "re-do" it, so the question was "How would you class your comprehension of the Japanese language?"

[Note: If you have come here to hurl abuse, please read the disclaimer at the bottom of the post]

So I just started studying Japanese a couple of months ago and I'm really getting into it (I self-teach using a great online textbook called TextFugu [this is NOT intended as advertising; it's just in case anyone is curious]).

Was wondering if any Escapists have taken any of the JLPTs (Japanese Language Proficiency Test) - which level did you take; how long had you been studying the language prior to taking it? I guess it'll be a while before I get to that level of understanding, but I'm just curious for what I might be able to do in the future. :)

Also, have you ever visited/lived in Japan? How were you "accepted" (I've heard stories of the Japanese not taking too kindly to foreigners [?Oli?ª?¢?¶?ñj])? <--- it would appear there is no support for Asian characters on these forums :S

How did you study? Were you self-taught, did you get private lessons, lessons at school, etc.?

How do people react when you say you know/are studying Japanese? Are they like "Sweet! :D" or are they more like "You've been watching too much anime, methinks" or "Wtf is the point in that!?"?

As for me, I'm a beginner, but I can read/write Hiragana/Katakana and (so far) I know 33 different Kanji and the more important on' and kun'yomi for each (1-, 2- and 3-strokers, about to move onto 4-strokes). I've learned a few particles, grammar rules, and a few (about 100 or so) common nouns/verbs (some using the Kanji I have learned, some just in Hiragana (until I learn their Kanji).

Any questions about my own, personal studies are more than welcome.

I'm just curious about the Escapist's Japanese-speaking community, is all. :)