XBLA Social Norms

PattyG

May 15, 2011
So I'm still relatively new to the whole online play thing (still prefer in-person multiplayer). I know what the official rules are in terms of not being offensive in your communication and this and that. But what are the social norms? Should I prefer everyone that isn't a cheater? If I win do I owe the other person a "Good game."? Also, I've received a few feedbacks as "unsporting," which I didn't think was possible in a closed-system card-game like Magic The Gathering.

ZeroMachine

Oct 11, 2008
I never use that.

But if you've gotten "unsporting", unless you were a dick towards the people, my guess is that they were just pissed that you were better than them :p

Hippobatman

Resident Mario sprite
Jun 18, 2008
Well, some people are sore losers. I see it all the time when I play Super Street Fighter IV.

Just be friendly to others, and others usually will be friendly towards you as well. If they're not, then just avoid them via the feedback system.

"Don't be a dick" is a fair rule here, as anywhere, I think.

ZehMadScientist

Oct 29, 2010
Ok, Rule No. 1 on Xbox live, EVERYONE is an asshole, even if they think they are not. The very few nice people out there are of course to be played nice against, but these are less common than juggling flying cats so don't get your hopes up.

As for the "unsporting" feedback, remember that it is a form of internet
communication --> trolls and really isn't something you should worry about.

Here's what I do, just go and speak about the game, try to communicate, if then some hyperactive twelve year old starts yelling at me I usually block communications or, if I'm in the mood, start a useless yelling argument which makes my lifespan decrease.

Always remember that Gaming is for your enjoyment and nothing else :D (unless you have ulterior motives but D'oh well)

SammiYin

Mar 15, 2010