271: On the Origin of Games

Adam Niese

Sep 13, 2010
On the Origin of Games

Tabletop roleplaying games like Dungeons & Dragons and electronic videogames are both descended from simulations but they adapted to their respective mediums in different ways. Adam Niese posits that, like Darwin's finches, tabletop and videogames are similar but evolved to fill different niches.

Read Full Article

Crimson_Dragoon

Biologist Supreme
Jul 29, 2009
I have to say, as a biologist myself, I absolutely loved the analogy to evolution. Though if we're going to go the biology route, should we consider video games and tabletop games as separate species? After all, they were able to produce viable offspring (Baldur's Gate) which could produce their own offspring (Baldur's Gate II). In the classic species concept, this makes both the same species. Or am I overthinking this?

Tavis

Jun 3, 2010
Great use of the tools developed for thinking about evolution to think about gaming! I think this analogy might also be powerful for talking about how games change over time in a way that acknowledges that change happens in an adaptive fashion without falling into the "newer = reflects more progress = better" fallacy.

Since we're all academics here, allow me to quibble about 1988 as the date for the first passable D&D videogame. Over at the dnd [http://odd74.proboards.com/index.cgi?board=general&action=display&thread=4681] game seems to have begun the same year D&D was first published! I haven't played dnd, but I know that back in the early '80s the original Wizardry struck me as a more than passable representation of the part of D&D I cared about most at the time, as did Moria when I discovered it in '88.

dukethepcdr

May 9, 2008