A newcomer to PC gaming.

Joey Corlett

Aug 11, 2010
I'm hoping to be able to buy and Laptop able to run PC games smoothly and efficently, I have reasearched (air qoutes there) some PC titles. Like Team Fortress 2, Counter Strike, Minecraft, Promod (that wierd mod of Call of Duty 4) and well anymore PC gaming titles that I get recommended from friends and whoever, except WoW. But whilist looking into all these there is a rather simple question hanging over me. Is PC gaming easy to start of? or will it just leave me frustrated and angry. I'm very willing to learn the ways of PC gaming. I just want to know if the first month or so is going to be rather suicidal time, well that silly but i'm sure you get the picture.

P.S I have been playing games on xbox 360 for several years now so i'm not a complete n00b, also detracked Minecraft from that list as I know it looks rather easy to get into.

Weaver

Overcaffeinated
Apr 28, 2008
PC gaming has never been simpler to get into than now.
In general you just install a game and then play it. If it seems to be running poorly you can change the graphics settings to make it run better.

My only advice to you is to make sure your laptop has a Direct X 10 capable card as many studios are starting to just drop Direct X 9 support.

Richardplex

Jun 22, 2011
Well, I buy new games on my ps3, and games my PC can handle (2009 and before full graphics, post 2009 lowest graphics) so I wouldn't call myself a PC gamer, lest I want to be stoned by the community. But I'd say, first get steam if you haven't already, and then just play a reasonable length game on the PC. by the end, you'll be fine to go, it's just memorising key bindings and getting used to mouse, both are reasonably fast to get to grips with.

Limecake

May 18, 2011