Batman vs Robin = ? to watch?

VondeVon

Dec 30, 2009
Just saw the animated movie Batman vs Robin. Was kind of surprised by several of the darker elements in it. Interested in seeing more.

I know there are two other movies but are these part of the greater animated series or are the separate? If they're part of it, should I buy the series and start at the beginning first? (I can't legally stream in my country and to buy it would be expensive so this is a big decision.)

I want something with the same kind of tone (murder of Robin, all that gory comic book stuff) but I'm kind of new to the animated side of things. Yay or nay?

King Billi

Jul 11, 2012
"Batman vs Robin" is the second part in a trilogy of sorts with "Son of Batman" as the beginning and "Batman: Bad Blood" as the end.

In my opinion "Batman vs Robin" is the best of these and easy to watch independent of the others though they do all share the same tone and violence abd the same voice actors carry over.

There are other films such as "Justice League War", "Throne of Atlantis" and "Justice League vs Teen Titans" that are also connected with this series if you are interested in continuity.

I would also recommend "Batman: Under the Red Hood" and "The Dark Knight Returns parts 1 & 2". They fit the tone you are after perfectly and are some of the best animated films DC have made in my opinion. Also they are completely self contained and free from internal continuity.

Bob_McMillan

Elite Member
Aug 28, 2014
Country
Philippines
Throne of Atlantis is the goriest movie after Batman vs Robin, though that's not saying much.

If you want to see a "good guy" killing people, Batman: Under the Red Hood has that and also happens to be one the best DC animated films.

Scarim Coral

Jumped the ship
Legacy
Oct 29, 2010
Country
UK
Justice League: The Flashpoint Paradox is the most violent DC animated movie and aswell The Killing Joke.