Got the performance review at my job, and it wasn't great

FakeSympathy

Elite Member
Legacy
Jun 8, 2015
Country
US
I'm a Data Analyst for a state university. I'm part of the support team, which means I assist various teams with their projects, and I switch teams every few months or so. At the end of my stay with a team, their managers talk to my manager regarding my work. And so far, every single one of them has viewed me favorably. Except for the last team.

I think the way it works is the other manager first gives a brief description of me working with them, then write a formal report on my work. My manager has shared the review with me, and basically, they said:

"OP is great in terms of energy, and he was eager to work on whatever tasks he asked him to do so. However, his communication was all over the place, and whenever we asked him for an update he seemed to give vague answers. Lastly, his work was left to be desired and had a lot of problems, and we found it was more efficient to create and run the script ourselves rather than continue to use his work"

I had a talk with my manager today. my defenses were:
  • It is true the communication was a bit all over the place, but this was because they didn't seem to have a definite communication channel. Every other team I've joined so far had dedicated slack (communication tool) channels for specific purposes, and this team kept creating new ones or open new DM chat
  • I gave vague answers because this is what I thought they had wanted. Granted I should've asked for clarification, but based on the documents they provided I gave them updates on what I was working on
  • Their code was already a mess to work with. I am pretty sure I left comments on what/how I changed them. I made sure it was standardized for the team, yet it still failed when others used it.
  • I also got grad school and volunteering stuff to work with outside of the job. I have little room to review my work.