How do I recover files that have been deleted?

Baraflesh

Jul 29, 2021
Country
USA
I accidentally deleted the file folder from my work laptop. How do I recover files that have been deleted? They are not in the basket.

Gordon_4

The Big Engine
Legacy
Apr 3, 2020
Australia
I accidentally deleted the file folder from my work laptop. How do I recover files that have been deleted? They are not in the basket.
Take the laptop to work, plug it into your work network, ring your service desk and ask them the lodge a request with third level support to restore the folder from a backup.

Gordon_4

The Big Engine
Legacy
Apr 3, 2020
Australia
This is my personal work laptop. I am a freelancer, I do not work for a company.
Then you will need to take it to a private data recovery company. Google ‘data recovery’ in your area. That’s the best advice I can give. With luck Phoenixmgs or Chimpzy will see this thread too and perhaps provide alternative solutions.

TheMysteriousGX

Elite Member
Legacy
Sep 16, 2014
Country
United States
You can give one of these a shot. As long as your computer hasn't overwritten the data you might be okay. if possible, download with a different computer and put it on a flash drive or something

Chimpzy

Simian Abomination
Legacy
Escapist +
Apr 3, 2020
Data recovery software is one option. The link MysteriousGX provided is a good start, tho you can always try looking for something yourself. There is free data recovery software out there, but most of it is limited in some way like only able to recover so many Mb/Gbs. This is all assuming the drive space where your files were hasn't been overwritten yet, hence MysteriousGX recommendation to download it on a different computer.

You can also try using the Command Prompt to recover files using the chkdsk command. It's success rate isn't great, and it's not the most user-friendly method, but it doesn't require buying/installing any software. There's a rundown of it here: