Irrelevant game titles

lacktheknack

Je suis joined jewels.
Jan 19, 2009
So I just realized that my favorite game, Mirror's Edge, has a kind of stupid title.

The realization came from a friend of mine seeing it, and asking "Is that some kind of puzzle game?" I told them that it was a story-driven parkour chase sequence. "Then why is it called that?" I explained the aesthetic and that it was symbolic of where the runners were in society, and they got it, but in retrospect, it's a weird title, isn't it? You'd think that a more accurate and enticing title would be "The Runner" or "Framed", I don't know, I'm not very good at titles.

Same story with Half Life. As an experiment after thinking about Mirror's Edge for a bit, I asked my Mom "If I told you there's a game called 'Half Life', what would you think it was about?"

To which she replied "Boring chemistry edutainment. Maybe you have to build molecules?"

Which is kind of exactly opposite of what Half Life is really about.

Have you guys noticed other games with odd titles like this? Got any better suggestions?

Catfood220

Elite Member
Legacy
Dec 21, 2010
Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a really stupid name. Its not actually a word, its two words that mean the same thing squashed together. I would of loved to be a fly on the wall in that planning meeting, I think it went a little like this:

9.30AM in a game developers office.

"Ok boss, I've thought of a name for this game, get this, what if we put revenge and vengeance together...Revengeance. GOD I'M SO AWESOME!!! Right, my work here is done, I'm going down the pub."

shrekfan246

Not actually a Japanese pop star
May 26, 2011
Many, many indie games. Probably more than I could bother to actually mention.

Going for the bigger targets, then...

With no prior knowledge of the franchises?