It's senior year and I picked the wrong major

Trinket to Ride

Jul 13, 2014
Hey. I'm in my first week of my last two semesters of college. Right now, I'm majoring in Psychology. I really think that was the wrong choice.

My whole higher-learning story: I graduated in 2010 and took a year off to work, not knowing what I wanted to do. I decided computer science would be a good fit for me, so I went to a local community college to do that. First semester was alright, but the second semester was one of the worst periods of my life. I was only taking one computer-related class, but it was awful. I had doubts that CS was the right fit for me, and decided to switch to something else. My favorite class of that era was psych 101, so I decided I should do that. I was getting a lot of pressure to commit to something, so I latched on to the first thing I sort-of liked. I finished up at community college, transferred to four-year, and now here I am. Thing is, I'm wondering if I made the right decision the first time.

I really think computers would be a better fit for me. Something more along the lines of IT than programming. I think the big reason I had such a rough time the first go-around was because I just had a terrible professor (seriously, he was the worst I ever had. He would straight-up ridicule you in front of the entire class if you got something wrong. The class test average was something like 32%). More-so, I was an emotional teenager with an utter shit work ethic. Hence the whole dropping-the-field-as-soon-as-it-got-hard thing.