Just How Does the Oculus Rift Work?

Shamus Young

Jul 7, 2008
Just How Does the Oculus Rift Work?

Shamus continues to with his Oculus Rift VR headset and takes time to break down how the unit works, and why high frame rate is important.

Read Full Article

Robyrt

Aug 1, 2008
Great article as usual.

Frame rate is not normally super important to me, but it makes a HUGE difference when you're trying to emulate something you already know how to do. I'm a musician, so when I play Rock Band, I can notice even 5ms of lag, and so can my musical friends. VR works the same way.

dochmbi

Sep 15, 2008
Well, all you need to do is lower the graphics settings to get more FPS, shouldn't be a problem. We will just go back ten years in graphics fidelity, which I'm fine with if the experience is good.

Fulbert

Jan 15, 2009
dochmbi said:
Well, all you need to do is lower the graphics settings to get more FPS, shouldn't be a problem. We will just go back ten years in graphics fidelity, which I'm fine with if the experience is good.
I agree. We've done this before when we transitioned from 2d to 3d. Aesthetically, the ugly origami figurines of the late 90's to early 00's 3d games generally couldn't hold a candle to the refined 2d sprites of the era, but the public chose the former over the latter anyway, since the 3d technology appeared to have so much more potential. I suppose we can afford to take a step back again with the VR.

Callate

Dec 5, 2008
A nice, succinct summary of the hurdles. Thanks, Shamus.

I think some enterprising marketer needs to come up with a plush Half-Life headcrab or Alien facehugger that can fit over the back of the Oculus without imparing its function, though.

Kahani

May 25, 2011
I just love that we can use the term "VR sickness" in an entirely sensible way, despite sounding like it should be in a Star Trek episode about a horrible virus jumping from computers to humans.

dochmbi said: