Kendo Confusion

demoman_chaos

May 25, 2009
I was watching some longsword competition finals, and I pondered how different kendo finals are.
So I punched "kendo finals" into youtube and came across a world championship finals. I don't understand what I am looking at. I'll post the videos below.

I have studied german longsword and looked into eastern sword styles, but I cannot figure out what the hell they are doing in Kendo. They stand within hugging range for a very large portion of the bout, and a few times I spotted a blade resting on the neck of the foe. I have spotted several easy and safe killing blows that could have made but didn't (as I said, I am not an expert but I have studied the usage of swords and do live steel reenactment combat).

Are their any kendo practioners on the Escapist that can explain to me what the rules are and why they aren't doing a lot of obvious attacks that would equal a dead enemy with real blades?

Owyn_Merrilin

May 22, 2010
I'm no practitioner of Kendo (or any other martial art, for that matter) but I imagine it has something to do with the way samurai traditionally fought. The Katana is not designed for edge to edge contact; for a good portion of Japanese history, they weren't very good at making steel, and you could pretty easily destroy a sword if you did it. It's just a guess, but I'm thinking the idea is to fight while avoiding direct contact of the edges of the blades. It certainly looks like they're mostly slapping the sides together in the video.

Edit: Also, the katana is a single edged sword, so if you're thinking like a broadsword wielder, you may be seeing killing blows where it would really just be smacking someone with the blunt side of the blade.

demoman_chaos

May 25, 2009
Owyn_Merrilin said: