Marketing Effect 3

Shamus Young

Jul 7, 2008
Marketing Effect 3

The portrayal of Mass Effect 3 in EA's marketing doesn't match the game.

Read Full Article

Shamus Young

Jul 7, 2008
There's a big difference between near and not too distant. I would expect distant future to be at least 1000 years from now, if not longer. Perfectly acceptable use of the phrase.

Apr 28, 2008
Pretty much all the trailers are weak. All they seem to focus on are the combat and Shepard being badass or whatever. It's like a crappier version of Halo's marketing.

Mortakk

Just this guy, you know?
Apr 8, 2009
"In the not too distant future" always makes me sing the MST3K theme in my head.

I find it odd that they advertise the DLC guns like that, though. Not that I'm a marketing expert, but I wonder if they were attempting to get people to see that they added more selection in ME3 than was in ME2, which honestly was one of my biggest problems with the game... that and the fact that Garrus never fixed that giant hole in his armor (and that you couldn't upgrade anyone else's armor except cosmetically). If so, they chose a weird way to go about it.

AJax_21

May 6, 2011
Irridium said:
Pretty much all the trailers are weak. All they seem to focus on are the combat and Shepard being badass or whatever. It's like a crappier version of Halo's marketing.
I actually found Halo's trailers much more effective and emotional than the entire ME3 marketing. The entire marketing campaign have been awful from the start.

Also, I'm turning "We eat or we starve!" into my new daily catchphrase.

Soviet Heavy

Jan 22, 2010
Irridium said:
The difference being that the dialogue from the trailer matches the Halo franchise far better.

Alpha Maeko

Uh oh, better get Maeko!
Apr 14, 2010
I understand why it bothers you, but personally I found it to be at least chuckle-worthy.

Wolfram23

Mar 23, 2004
I think the problem here is pretty obvious. Developers made a game you find to be very deep.