Poll: Ever had your pet give you it's kill?

IceStar100

Jan 5, 2009
Ok an animal bringing you its kill is said to be the highest sign of its affection. Or so I am told. Well I have was talking to a friend on my porch when a stray that I?ve been feed drops a dead squirrel in my lap. My first reaction is to land on the roof. I calmed down and gave it back then thanked and loved the cat. That when she told me this tidbit. So made me wonder if this has happened to others.

Caligulove

Sep 25, 2008
yea, my girlfriends cat does that all the time.

when I studied zoology and ethology last year, I read that cats do that with the intent of feeding you, if they think you are inept at doing so yourself. Basically, your cat looks down at you and thinks, "here, watch how a pro does it"

El Poncho

Techno Hippy will eat your soul!
May 21, 2009
Well, my cat kills them(or half kills them, I hate it when that happens) and my dog retrieves them.

Nex-Falx

Dec 24, 2009
My dog is afraid of bunny rabbits. (I know...)

That's a big fat "no".

Thanks for interesting thread.

Xelt

May 11, 2008
Many times my cat has bought birds into the house.
Once she even bought a half dead owl and dropped it on me in my sleep. Worst thing to wake up to ever.

Calobi

Dec 29, 2007
I read the title as "Ever had your pet give you its skill" at first and was wondering if you somehow obtained night-vision from a cat or super-hearing from a dog or something. The actual topic is somewhat of a let down now.

Also, my cat gave my sister a dying bird once. Never gotten a "gift" myself, though, seeing as how I am an excellent hunter.

prinxess

Feb 28, 2009
I found a bunch of dead bird/rat/mice corpses behind my shed...
And we don't even have a cat... D:

Apr 28, 2008
Caligulove said: