Poll: Should I get Fallout 3 or fallout new vegas?

stringtheory

Dec 18, 2011
with the release of the Fallout: New Vegas ultimate edition on steam, I'm considering buying it or the GTOY edition of Fallout 3, and currently being a poor student, I can only get one, so which one gives "more value"? I know that they are essentially the same game, but is there any kind of continuation between Fallout 3 and Fallout: New Vegas, which would justify getting Fallout 3 first? or does one have better gameplay?
plus I've never played any of the previous games, so I'm also asking: which one is the better game to get into the series?
I know this will probably start a flame war, but I do want to know ahead of time which is worth the
money I'll be paying for it
or alternately, you could suggest a similar open-world game (yes, I have Skyrim, oblivion, and S.T.A.L.K.E.R.: Call of Pripyat) that would be worth my money more then the fallout series?

Tayh

Apr 6, 2009
Fallout 3/New Vegas is kinda mediocre, unless you're already familiar with, and like, the setting.
Mods go some way to fix this, but only to some degree.

I hear Kingdom of Amalur is a pretty solid choice, though.

Philol

Nov 7, 2011
I love both, but I would say get New Vegas, for me it was more immersive and had a lot more to do, but in terms of DLC Fallout 3 was superior, plus the main story line was more in keeping with its predecessors' than New Vegas. Nonetheless I would suggest New Vegas.

Kimarous

Sep 23, 2009
I'd say hold off for a bit. I think they're going to soon release a super gold edition that includes GOTY editions of both games.

If I'm mistaken, I'd go with Fallout 3 if you want a much stronger post-apocalyptic atmosphere. New Vegas is more political-based and feels less "this world was bombed to shit" and more "when society rebuilds afterwards, shit goes down".

recruit00

Sep 18, 2010