Protection of the stupid. (Workplace Health And Safety)

Fatboy_41

Jan 16, 2012
Firstly, some background...

I'm an electrician. I have been in construction for just on 10 years now. Everything from domestic housing to townhouse estates to industrial warehouses. I've been around and seen a lot of different ways of doing things. Recently, as in the past 3 to 4 years, it seems that workplace health and safety is getting outrageous. Don't get me wrong, I am all for completing a job safely and going home with all limbs attached, but there has to be a line drawn somewhere.

The most recent example in the job I am going to tomorrow. It's a nice simple extraction booth. 2 fans, a few lights and a control panel. 3 hours, max. I have already spent 6 hours on site without picking up a tool, with another 8 tomorrow to actually do the job. The safety induction for this site was 4 hours long. For the most part, that was fine. Due to the overall size of this project, I can understand needed a through and in depth induction covering everything from general safety to the environmental procedures. However, I can not appreciate being treating like a child with no common sense.