Retail jobs: the dumbest customer question you've been asked?

funkyjiveturkey

Jan 18, 2013
i work in customer service in the electronics department of my store, a surplus store no less. we get some very interesting customers both for the good and bad, but we do get a lot of very uneducated questions.

around when i started my job there, an old couple came in asking why their computer couldn't get past the BIOS post, and the woman literally asked "does my computer have dirty windows?". as i began the next sentence i cut myself off just to give her a weird look for a moment, then kept asking more questions.

now i get that, they're old, not familiar with newer technology and especially not computers, but one thing customers do that irks me on a regular basis is ask if i'm employed at the store. i'll be wearing the company shirt, and a nametag that says "Sales associate", and i'll be standing behind my counter sweeping the floor or fixing something, and a lot of people still come up and ask "Hi, do you work here?" as i pause to look at the wall of paintball guns behind me, then look back to them and say "well i would certainly hope so sir, what do you need?"

i can probably think of better examples, but these 2 really stick out.

if you work in retail, you've probably been through similar things. what is the dumbest question you've ever been asked at your job?

thesilentman

What this
Jun 14, 2012
funkyjiveturkey said:
I don't work in retail, but I do help convert older machines to Linux and attempt to fix machines that have viruses and other issues. Considering that most of the people I help are rather tech illiterate, it's to be expected. But the dumbest question award has to go to the person who thought that she didn't need empty files on her computer. So she deleted them.