Starting up a new game!

Ayrtonh

May 10, 2010
Okay, so I once opened a page here a while back about how to get into game design. I have already done several small projects by myself and managed to scrape by with the art and programming. I am an animator, better than before, so the art isnt much of a problem now, but heres the thing:
I recently decided to bring other people into my gaming business and I plan on registering a company soon. The only problem I have is how do I help everyone do their roles? My new artist is amazing and I have some basic concepts for her to work with but Im not entirely sure how I can get her art and use exactly that in the game. My programmer (Who is somewhat new to scripting so hes learning with me, though he is far ahead of me) is also going to need some direction as well so can all work. The problem is I dont really know how to get us all started. Im thinking that we need a couple Pre-production meetings to help start up, but how can I get us all to actually start? Talk is one thing, actually starting, and where to start is another. Any advice to a budding game designer?

Liviola

May 9, 2011
Wow, good on you! You're living my dream at the moment!

I'm not experienced as a professional, but I am right now creative directing / project managing most groupwork that I am doing at a design college. It has been a difficult learning process into growing into the "boss" role, but there are some tips I use for my own behaviour and it might help you: