Steam, or the impulse buyer's greatest dream/worst nightmare.

UrinalDook

Jan 7, 2013
Hi Escapist, how are you doing? Is your chair comfy enough? How about a coffee, you look like you need one.

Now, I've mentioned this in passing before but it's worth repeating: I'm fairly new to PC gaming. At least, I'm fairly new to current gen PC gaming. It seems like these days, it's possible to be a PC gamer without using Steam in some capacity. It's a marvelous little invention, isn't it? A vast catalogue of games, merely a broadband connection and an hour or two away at the simple click of a mouse.

And, of course, perhaps it's best feature - the sale.

Ever since it's release, I've been intrigued by Deus Ex: Human Revolution. I love RPGs, I love Sci-Fi and I will accept I do quite enjoy cyberpunk. But I never really desired Deus Ex. I tried to play the original, and must admit I am too shallow to get past the awful, awful graphics. I played... Um, no I can't have because it didn't exist. Whatever that memory is, it isn't very good. I have also noticed that, since not at all long after release, DE:HR has not been a considerable investment. It got down to under £30 for the 'limited edition' on Xbox in what felt like weeks. But even then, as a 360 player, it was simply too much money. Other games happened, and on numerous shopping trips, I found myself clutching the bright green case, wondering if I was bored enough to finally give it a try. I looked at preowned copies, and said no. The price dropped to an inconsequential £15, and still I passed on it.

Today, after dropping out of a quick Skyrim sesh(by the by, God bless the superior PC version and the legion of talented modders), Steam yelled at me that Deus Ex was in the midweek sale. It's price: £3.47.

Three. Forty. Seven.