Surprised by Skyrim's resolution on xbox vs ps3

dandahammer

Partaker of adult beverages
Jun 2, 2009
We got our Skyrim copies in at the walmart I manage and on the back of the box: Ps3 1080i resolution; xbox 1080p resolution. Ps3, I am disappoint. Hoping it's a misprint. I'll be able to tell since I'm borrowing my bro's xbox til my ps3 returns from the repair shop.

harvz

Jun 20, 2010
uh, what?
your playing on what 5-6 yr old hardware? im surprised its not 720p like a lot of games that have been coming out are.

Frank_Sinatra_

Digs Giant Robots
Dec 30, 2008
Excuse me while I put on my "I have a degree in media technology" hat, but there is no difference between 1080i, and 1080p.
The only differences are between whether the pixels are interlaced or not.
(If you don't know what I mean by "interlaced" play a VHS, then pause it.)

Furthermore, there is also no quality difference between 1080, and 720. The only thing that is different between the two is the aspect ratio.

isometry

Mar 17, 2010
Frank_Sinatra_ said:
Excuse me while I put on my "I have a degree in media technology" hat, but there is no difference between 1080i, and 1080p.

Furthermore, there is also no quality difference between 1080, and 720. The only thing that is different between the two is the aspect ratio.
Maybe this is a parody and my sense of humor is not working. 1080i means the video has a vertical resolution of 540 lines, while 1080p resolves details more sharply due to having 1080 vertical lines, twice the amount. You might not personally care and that's fine, but there is a big objective difference between 1080i and 1080p.

Also 720p and 1080p have the same aspect ratio, 16:9.

ColeusRattus

Apr 16, 2009
Frank_Sinatra_ said:

You, kind sir, have no idea what you are talking about and what "interlaced" even means.

The hard facts:

1080p = 1920x1080 pixels, equals 2,073,600 pixels on screen.