Webcomic Review: Interview with Jack's David Hopkins

vultureX21

Feb 26, 2009
So when I removed some artwork from the reviews pending the permission of the authors I sent out emails waiting for a simple "yea" or "nay" from those in question. All the artists were happy to let me use their artwork (which I am still in the process of reposting) but David Hopkins was the only one who took a strong interest in the review. Upon reading it, he sent me a response and agreed to do an email interview about Jack. You can find that below, enjoy!

In response to the review...

Well, just read your review and it sounds perfectly fair. The two things I would say is that I am entirely self taught and as a result I'm still undergoing a learning process, so I can see how it will look like shit every now and then. This isn't an excuse it's more of an explanation and I hope the progress of the comic shows that I am trying to learn to do better as I go..

As for deviating from the main plot from time to time, well, I have been working on this thing pretty consistently for 8 years while keeping up a regular job, and aside from a few folders full of pages I have bupkiss to show for it. I know other people are getting a lot out of it but I never make back what I put into this thing (monetarily or spiritually) and I am past the point of expecting this investment to ever pay off. So occasionally I will admit that I stray so that I can tell a story that is more interesting to me at the time. Case in point is the Frigid McThunderbones story. You do not want to know what was going on in my life when I started on that one, I was miserable and I really couldn't do a straight Jack story. I needed to work through things and the snow man was a good break from real life. It was also good to show people I could laugh at myself.