Why I don't like piracy: a software developer's thoughts.

Sayvara

Oct 11, 2007
I'm a software developer and I don't like software piracy. I have absolutely no sympathy for software pirates.

Why?

Because software pirates don't care about the most simple of principles: Yours & Mine.

The sanctity of ownership is what I'm talkin' about, that is to say: what's yours is yours, and what's mine you keep you damned dirty monkey-paws away from until I say differently.

When I create something, I own it. It's a basic concept that most of the 6 billion people on this planet agree on. What I make, is mine. What this means is that whatever is mine, I have the right to say who gets to play with it, allright? Whatever I own, I have the right to say: you don't get to play with this, because there is nothing, in any legislation anywhere, that gives you the right to veto my decisions about what's mine.

But software pirates don't believe in Yours & Mine. Software pirates think that just because I have offered to let people use my software for a fee, they suddenly have the right to say "Fuck it" to all my wishes and use my property as if it was their own.

And that is what peeves me... that some pimply snot-nosed kids have the gall to claim that they have some kind of right to screw my rights over; that they don'ty have to heed the most basic of principles taught to us as small kids, which is: stay the heck away from that which you don't own, or at least go ask if you may play with it before you try to do so.

Now granted I shouldn't be a jerk about it. The conditions I put up for using my property shouldn't be unreasonable. If I charge money for the usage of my property, the conditions must be fair, and I'm all for that. Consumer rights are very important.