Escapist's Day Jobs

eatenbyagrue

Dec 25, 2008
I'm aware that most of the people here are in their 20's, but what do we all really do for a living, when we're not playing videogames? This isn't for any real reason, I just wanted to satisfy my curiosity.

Me, I'm an English teacher. I teach at the high school and college level (the school where I currently work has a college integrated into it), but I also handle remedial English for all levels (broken up in blocks of grades 1-3, 4-6 and 7-8), edit the school's newspaper and coach the debate team.

Eclipse Dragon

Lusty Argonian Maid
Legacy
Jan 23, 2009
Country
United States
I design T-Shirts and Logos.

I draw... a lot of cars... so many cars.

Stares blankly into the distance.

Weaver

Overcaffeinated
Apr 28, 2008
Unemployment foreveeeeeeerrrrrr!

But really, I'm a programmer. Currently I'm developing a video game in Unreal Engine 4... so I guess I'm technically an indie game developer at this point. That said, I'm still searching for employment!

Scarim Coral

Jumped the ship
Legacy
Oct 29, 2010
Country
UK
I'm a sales assistant in a cheap branded/ discount retail store. I consider myself lucky that I don't deal with many ass customers and the majority are pleasent folks.

VanQ

Casual Plebeian
Oct 23, 2009
I work as a Pathological Aide in a Pathology lab. It's cool work and a big bonus is that when a person asks me what I do for work it's a really cool sounding title and always seems to impress people. I love the work and the Lab I work at often holds free educational sessions during lunch hours that you can go to and learn about the latest vaccines/viruses/medical research and progress if you want. Really, really cool stuff.

Mr Fixit

Oct 22, 2008
I make silicone rubber dies that are used to print the labels on make-up stuff & pens & pencils. We also make acid etched magnesium dies for printing mud flaps. I also do a bit of graphic design as well.

It's not exciting work, but it pays the bills.

Fappy

\[T]/