MMOs and you

Sleepy Sol

Feb 15, 2011
So, I know we already have an MMO thread about how crappy just about every MMO launch. But, I was curious to see how many people play MMOs on the Escapist. And ask a bunch of stupid questions about them to boot.

Do you enjoy MMOs? Why or why not? How long have you been playing them, and can you see yourself continuing to play them for the foreseeable future?

As for me, I've been playing some form of MMO since 2008 (unless you count Runescape) and they've always since been a close to daily part of my life. Sad, I know. But I've managed to make some great groups of friends across multiple games that I've kept for years. Friends are probably one of the biggest reasons I enjoy MMOs, and are usually the force that keeps me playing.

I can't see myself quitting MMOs very soon. I've been playing FFXIV:ARR for 9 months now, and the upcoming expansion only has me more excited. Previously, I played Phantasy Star Online 2 on the Japanese servers for a year and a half-ish, Mabinogi, TERA, and a couple others that I really don't feel like remembering.

This thread was also an excuse for me to see who plays FFXIV and on what server because reasons (i.e. seeing if I could make any new dungeon or raid buddies; I'm on Balmung). Apologies.

Duster

Jul 15, 2014
I guess mmo is actually a genre like fps and rts that's not too easy to enjoy on the entry level, and that you can actually be good at mmos. I've played quite a few of them but I rarely make it to max level.

There are a few core reasons that I avoid getting really into mmos:
-The ultimate goal of the company is to make money, so no open source controls, no transparency, fotm balance and when the game dies, it's left to die.
-clicking simulator