Why do you still come to the Escapist forums?

Drathnoxis

Became a mass murderer for your sake
Legacy
Sep 23, 2010
Just off-screen
Country
Canada
Let's be frank, these forums are not what they once were. I mean look, this is what the forums were like in 2010. There isn't a single post in the front page of gaming discussion older than 30 minutes. Now days, I frequently see posts 2 or 3 days old on the first page! It seems like the only threads that can even make it past a page or 2 are the controversial, borderline flame bait, threads. Lately, I've been trying to make more threads because I'm sick of coming here and seeing the same topics every day, but it just feels so pointless. It's like I'm trying to start a rally on a street that's been closed for months.

I keep asking myself, what am I even still doing here? I just keep coming back due to habit and sentimentality for the past. I've been coming here for almost 6 years now, and I've learned so much and found out about so many great things that I find it very hard to just abandon the site. That and I don't know of any place on the internet that offers the kind of discussion you used to be able to get here.

I'm certainly not coming here for the sense of close community. I don't know if it's just me, but it just seems like there's this abrasive apathy between the members here most of the time. Like, the only reason anybody will actually address someone is to tell them how wrong they are about something. Like, even when people agree it seems like they are only agreeing with the words, and that they've hardly even taken notice of which of the little boxes actually said them. Sure, there is the rare bit of camaraderie, but for a community this size it seems shockingly distant. Honestly, the community felt closer when there were 10 times as many active users. Does anybody else feel the same way, or am I off base with that?