Zero Punctuation: Dark Souls

T3hSource

Mar 5, 2012
Wow, I read an Extra Punctuation article that you finally played it a year ago or so and it broke you, you finally "got it", let's see.

Yep he got it.

Evonisia

Your sinner, in secret
Jun 24, 2013
Wow, is this the first retro review of a game which came out after Yahtzee began doing Zero Punctuation? Speaking of, I think he mentioned most of the retro reviews he's done before in this one (Silent Hill 2, Painkiller, Castlevania: SotN, Half-Life to name a few).

Great video, and I get what you're talking about when it comes to newcomers. I started playing it a little while ago and struggled because I had no idea what I was doing. I might try giving it another go once I've finished with XCOM: Enemy Unknown, another game which I got stuck in a while ago.

Edit: Though did you notice how characters don't open their mouths while talking? Or that the textures look like they're a skybox because they go 2D as soon as you get ten feet away from them?

Feb 22, 2009
Finally! I knew he'd end up liking it. Too many people focus on challenge as the defining feature of Dark Souls, but I agree with Yahtzee that the game's real draw is its atmosphere and unique style of storytelling. The difficulty of the gameplay is just one part of creating that atmosphere.

Erttheking

Legacy
Oct 5, 2011
Country
United States
*SPIT TAKE* He actually liked it? Holy shit, I was mentally preparing myself for him to tear it apart. Yeah, it really is a game where you have to pull teeth to get into, but once you do get into it, dear god it's worth it.

Also I'm getting the impression that the halberd was his weapon of choice.

Arppis

May 28, 2011
Ah yeah Yathzee mentioned about liking this at one of the videos in his Youtube channel.

JoJo

and the Amazing Technicolour Dream Goat 🐐
Legacy
Mar 31, 2010
Country
🇬🇧